Daily Archives: April 30, 2014

Illustrator Experiment

So using the image of the tiger that I collected I began trying a new technique on illustrator, using the pen tool I normally try and gently curve the lines around the shapes of the image but for this image I wanted to try something different I went about by roughly and rapidly clicking the pen tool to create a more random but unique piece of line work.

female_while_tiger-wide

Picture 25

Picture 26

 

I decided to only do half of the image because I wanted to reflect the other side to create a se-metrical image for the piece, I will continue with this.

Picture 28

Picture 29

I copied and pasted the trace side and reflecting it in the transform option in object at the top menu bar, Now that I have a very basic outline for the tigers face I am going to create another layer to add more lines for the hairs and whiskers on the face, I also will have a look at the fill and gradient options.

Picture 7

 

After I had created the basic line for the face I went about suing the graphic fill to achieve the style that I have before in my Usual words project, I had to play around with layers and opacity to achieve the look that I was looking for.

Picture 8

Picture 2

 

So originally I was just going to print out this basic design but then I decided to actually complete it in illustrator to see what outcome I was going to achieve, So I began by adding in the long whiskers and hairs on the tigers face, I did them in 2 line thicknesses 1pt and 2pt just to add more depend to the thicker and more pronounced hairs.

 

Picture 3

 

 

Whiskers by themselves.

Picture 4

 

The eye was looking a little lost, so I went about creating a new layer on top and copying them too this, I next had a look at the fill options till I was happy, 100% white was just to bright and they looked out of place but in an off white they looked good to me. Feedback will tell me more.

Picture 5

 

Final finished design, but I do have some further plans with this to see what I can achieve, My main reason to continue on with it because of the whiskers, originally I was just going to cut carefully around the design but with the fine lines this would be really hard and properly impossible, So I have a few tricks up my sleeves that I want to try out.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Test

While collecting images to use in Illustrator and photoshop I got an idea and I had to do a quick test just to get it down, the image below gave me the idea, it isn’t that different from my original where I wanted to just have the animals head but this image was set up perfectly to use the whole body, so in illustrator I did these really quickly.

D3S8720cropped

Picture 22

Picture 23

 

I do really prefer the landscape version to the portrait version, on this one I just wanted to see ho the design/ logo looked without my box around it and I do really prefer it without it, so I need to start pulling my designs together now fast.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

WWF Animal’s / Images

So today I have decided while at college with a computer that actually works without crashing that I would have some fun in Adobe Illustrator with tracing and playing with the layers and my own style that I have previously used in other projects.

But first I have decided that I really need some new images to use, I did really want to use the snake but in hindsight this wouldn’t work because the snake that I have chosen in the image isn’t actually endangered whats so ever, so from this decision I am going to look at more in-depth animal faces on like big cats, rhinos, elephants, apes, etc…

Sumatran Tiger

female_while_tiger-wide

D3S8720cropped

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,