Daily Archives: February 5, 2014

Possible Colour Schemes/Themes

Just a quick post with some inspirational images to help me figure out a possible colour scheme because I don’t want to copy Jay Shells read and white, even though it works so well and I wish that I thought of it first.

Robert Sample:

http://www.robertsample.co.uk/

“Sample’s work is a fine example of that rare thing, a collection of unapologetic figurative works, which do not rely on irony or nostalgia to create a strong image”

– ArtDaily.com February 2010

I have previously studied Robert Sample I art a while ago and I got really interested In he’s art work, he’s a local painter from brighton so within driving distance for me for photo’s if needed but I could possibly do something around he’s art work? something to advertise local artists, maybe for a made up company called “Local Art”, Within your grasp”? i don’t know yet but it’s another thought.

I could again create street signs that could be put up around the town to advertise the local artist to the masses, for the PDF’s I could take loads of photo’s have them in black and white with accented colour’s and type?

I need to have a look into this.

41061687

 

482224053

 

1806975975

 

 

3482018452

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Design Factory Project

After finishing the branding project I’m back on this one again, I have a month to complete it, this project is slightly different in the fact that for submission to the Design Factory I don’t need to submit my actual work, I need to create 4 PDF which my work will be included on, 1 for my research into the Paul Smith Exhibition, 2 for research and the last for my work.

I already know what I want to do because I have been thinking about this for over a month now and I have a very good insight into this, a couple of years ago I remember while studying art I came across a street artist from New York called Jay Shells, He did this really interesting project called “Rap Quotes” and basically he took lyrics from local raps artists that featured a street or place in New York on their songs and he made these into signs and placed them up around the city where they mention.

Jay-Shells-by-Rap-Quotes-Street-Art-Featured

 

Jay-Shells-Rap-Quotes-LA-5

 

Rap-003

 

rap-quotes-street-art-jay-shells-5

 

rq-9093

 

screen-shot-2013-03-28-at-11-25-50-am

 

A few examples of he’s pieces of work, they are very simple and the concept is as well but these have really got me interested in this project, because the brief is so open I can pretty much do something that I want to for this project, so I want to utilise what I have learnt from years of doing art and looking at street art and use this in my own graphic design work.

Obviously I’m not just going to copy the designs, I will start from scratch finding songs and coming up with my own sign format and styles, but the sig style that he has used Is a generic one anyway that’s used all around the world so It is a possibility.

I need to get on with finding out about so possible songs, I hoping to create at least 4 or 5 signs sith a concept for many more in a visual aid which can be put in my PDF at the end like the image above.

Idea:

There is a local artist how actual lives near me in Tonbridge called “Lee Willz” might be a thought to contact him and find out if it’s possible to do this for him? This project is about Britain and where the idea’s and project’s from I guess so this could be a thought to have my signs up and around town, using the idea of Jay Shells this will hopefully educate some people that we as a town aren’t that boring haha.

My other road to go down is to create signs for British Music like Queen, the Beatles, Ellie Goulding, Tinie Tempah, Calvin Harris, etc…

I really need to get on with the creation of these street signs but first I need to create a small proposal to showcase my idea to the teachers and other students.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,