CD Experiments

 

 

 

 

So basically I have been looking at printing on my CD to try to achieve the two-tone black on black, Luckily my Dad has a printer that can print onto CD’s, so I downloaded the appropriate programs to allow me to create my pattern’s and print them. But once I printed them the ink just wouldn’t stick to the CD itself? I don’t know whether it was something to fill covering the top of the CD?

But by the looks of it the CD was covered in a metallic fill to I was just going to spray the top of the CD with matt black spray paint with an acrylic base so the ink should stick to it, the ink should come out gloss black on this, if this doesn’t work I will create a stencil and just spray the top coat with an acrylic lacer.

image

 

While masking up the CD’s centre with masking tape I did it wrong so as I went to take it off to do it again the actual top layer came off!! I was so happy because the completely clear CD looked so cool and different but this all went down hill from here, I put the CD into my computer to play the CD after I burnt onto it and it didn’t work!! the CD must need the metallic bottom of top cover to play, it must have something to do with mirror effect allowing the disc to be read, so back to the drawing board with the first idea.

image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment